Farewell Fanfiction

No, I’m not retiring. You can breathe.

I am, however, bidding a fond farewell to fanfiction.net. Why? Well, there are several reasons. Primarily that I just don’t post there anymore. I don’t see the point of keeping that account open when it’s really pretty useless to me. I don’t get reviews there very often anymore. Usually I get PMs from random people bitching at me because their links suck and don’t reroute people here.

So to save myself the headache of those messages, buh bye. I know, I know, but Meg you could just turn off PMs. Yes, that’s true. I could turn off the PMs. It still doesn’t change the fact that I don’t post there. I haven’t posted there in well over a year at this point. It’s more like two, possibly three.

Additionally, and I this is where I had a bit of a struggle, I don’t want to deal with FFN admins, stories being pulled, or that massive thundercunt who has been trolling just about everyone I love in this community. I know, we’re not supposed to let the terrorists win. The thing is, I’m fresh out of fucks to give about that.

See? Eric gets me.

The simple truth is, I don’t want to deal with the shit. If that means I close the account I don’t use anyway, so be it. This troll is going to continue to push its agenda regardless. It’s targeting a blog that isn’t even on that site so…

Like dumbass trolls who try police a website’s policies with examples from a completely different website that has nothing to do with the other one. Fuckwit.

So that’s my decision. I am currently working on pulling everything down. I’m sad to lose all of the wonderful reviews I have gotten over the years. Well, I have them all saved in my email. My inner hoarder likes that they’re all organized on FFN, even if I never go back and read them. They’re just little reminders of good times and some not so good.

But for those of you think the troll is surviving all of this unscathed, that is not the case. Wifey alerted me to some shit going down so I took a little looksie purely out of curiosity. What? I’m a bitch who likes gossip. Sometimes. What I found was this (a report from the Anti-Plagiarism Reports Forum) and this (a growing list of stories that It has reported for elimination). I’m a little offended that the only story of mine to make the cut was a cowrite with Scribeninja. I know I have way more smut than that to offer.

Based on what I read in the comments (not that I want to drive Its traffic up over there) legal action is being taken against this person for the plagiarism. Obviously the admins over there are not too thrilled with the Troll’s decision to plagiarize in some feeble attempt to make a point about rule breaking by breaking rules. It’s hypocrisy at its finest and it succeeded in getting approximately zero stories removed from the site, at least as far as I know. Help Me Remember will be leaving by my choice and not some nazi admin’s.

So that’s it. I’m done with Fanfiction.net.

That said, I am going to do my best to get everything posted here but it’s a time consuming thing to do. It’ll be a work in progress like everything else in my life. I’ll do the best I can.

You’re all beautiful and I adore you.

xoxo,

Meg

29 thoughts on “Farewell Fanfiction

  1. Good for you! It’s a toxic site that doesn’t abide by its own TOS. I’m surprised you remained on there as long as you have. You have a huge following on WP, and folks always seem to know where you to find you! You made a good decision for you, not because of anyone else. 🙂
    All the best!

    • Seriously, your comment about them not even following their own TOS is so stinking accurate it’s sick. It’s just time to cut my losses over there. It served its purpose but I moved on a long time ago. I’m just finally getting around to closing up shop.

      • Brava! Kudos to you, and I wish so many others would do the same. I’m not sure FF would even notice a mass exodus, or if they would even care. Horrible site! They’ve allowed way too much bullshit, and if someone’s wanting to write, there are enough sites to find where they won’t be censored. Research first!

    • I’d like to, unfortunately the links there are absolute balls. I’ve updated them plenty of times and people say they still don’t work. Why they don’t just google search “makesmyheadspin wordpress” I will never understand. That’s much easier than asking me in a PM that I *might* answer in six months. I’m tired of playing tech support lol.

  2. Good for you. I totaly support you. And thank you that we can follow you on wordpress. Your work is realy good and provide me hours upon hours of great time and relax.
    Thanks,

  3. Sadly, I understand completely why you have made this decision. I have been introduced to so many talented writers because of fanfiction.net, but I have also been horrified by the “Mccarthyism” that seems to rear it’s ugly head from time to time.
    The real loss is to to new readers who will be deprived of the wondeful stories no longer available there. Thank goodness for WordPress.

  4. Dealing with that crap over there isn’t worth it especially since there are other better sites. But I’m glad that I found so many of you great writers there so I know which names to search for on the web!
    I am looking forward to rereading the stories as you post them here!

  5. Bravo, well done. Like you i haven’t posted over there in at least 2 years. it irks me at what the guest reviewers can do. I still have my account open as i still read some of the stories over there but to post, it isn’t gonna happen. funny thing is i made the smut list and i am still trying to figure out what smut i wrote. I will always be grateful to the site becasue it brought me some wonderful friends and if it wasn’t for your challenge and push i would have never written my first story to post. Thank you . KY

  6. I get it, I still post there but after the recent troll sighting, I wonder why. To look at your list of stories deleted forever by hateful bitches, breaks my heart. I hope these authors are aware and I hope I can save all their stuff somewhere before its too late. Luckily for us, your awesome works has better homes to be. Thank you for letting me know. 🙂

    • If there’s something you want to convert for e-reading just let me know and I’ll send a word document. I did Hot For Teacher and Lovin’ Touchin’ Squeezin’ last night, along with several one shots. I’ve had a few computers crash on me since I got started in this fandom so I’ve lost several documents but I’ll be happy to email anything I have. You don’t need to make your email address public either. I get it with every review that’s sent to me 😉

      • I would like a copy of lovin touchin squeezin if possible please?

        I completely understand how “over it” you are with all of that drama. But I’m sad too because I was very late to this fandom. I only just watched TB in December of last year and blew through all the SVM stories the week after I finished the show. I was so angry and distraught with how the last book ended that right then and there at 3am I took to google to see if anyone agreed with me…. Lo and behold ff.net appeared in my search results. After inhaling stories there for a few months I branched out to my favorite authors’ WordPress sites. My twinge of regret is, if I had come to this fandom at the same time this year instead of last, by the time I got to ff I never would have found you ( or others who are also deciding to leave )

        Not that any of that is your responsibility. Just my rambling

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

