Wifey’s Birthday Has Come Early!

I know, I know, I can hear Wifey right now groaning and mentally asking me why I’m trying to make her older faster. Well, she has no one but herself to blame. When she told me my birthday present was tipping the scales at a 16k word count (and it wasn’t done yet!), I knew I had to step up my game. Therefore, we have this short story.

Dark Was the Night Banner

And yes, this story features vampires, telepaths and maybe even Steve Newlin, oh my! It’s True Blood verse somewhere toward the end of season two, minus that dumbass MaryAnn plot that went on about 11 episodes too long, plus Godric didn’t meet the sun in Dallas. Just for shiznits and giggles, I kept Gran around, too. And Bill’s man bangs. Whether or not Bill will still be Sookie’s beau is another story. This is a kjwrit birthday present so I think you can figure out how that’s going to go for our favorite wet blanket. I couldn’t very well have her calling in the waaaaaahmbulance on her 21st birthday redux, could I?

I suspect this is only going to be eight or nine chapters but I’m in the planning stages for a follow up to it called Cold Was the Ground, which is the second half of the song title by Blind Willie Johnson. If you want to hear the song, it’s on the main page for the story. So without further ado, I present the first chapter of Dark Was the Night.

Happy reading and happy birthday to my amazing wifey, whom I somehow manage to love a little more each year.

Title

5 thoughts on “Wifey’s Birthday Has Come Early!

  1. I’ll have you know my wet blanket is perfect.

    PERFECT!

    ‘Cause YOU KNOW how it came to be wet…”Came…I’m so punny. 🙂

    I love you and adore this fic! Thank you!!!

    • I tried to find a unicorn birthday thing because obvious reasons, but Google is a useless asshat. Even Bill’s man bangs are more useful. That’s sad. Very, very sad. So I guess I’ll just have to settle for an old fashioned happy birthday. And this. Definitely this.

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

