Into the Wild…

If you haven’t seen the above movie, look into it. On my list of favorite movies, this one is in the top five (along with Almost Famous, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Virgin Suicides and Say Anything). I’ve read the book and it’s the only book I own where I have taken a highlighter to it. There are so many great things about this story and it’s based on the life of Christopher McCandless. This is the movie I go to when I need a reality check. It’s also the only Kristen Stewart project that doesn’t make me want to puke. This movie makes me want to give up everything and drift around the world, seeing different things and meeting different people. It affected the way I see things.

It also spawned the above song (another of my favorites). Eddie Vedder is responsible for the entire soundtrack to the film and it’s brilliant and beautiful and in some cases, haunting.

I’m bringing all of this up because I’ve had a lot to think about lately. At the moment I’m pulling down Free. I don’t know when I’m going to finish it and it features work by Scribeninja, who has left the fanfiction community. I had permission to post it but I feel weird about posting it now, especially given the way the story turns. Perhaps, at some point, I’ll finish writing it all on my own and I’ll make it available to you for downloading all at once. In the meantime, I have some solo work that I’m steadily working on with Wifey’s encouragement whip cracking. I’m going to wait to post it until it’s finished so that I don’t get halfway through it and then it dies. I hate doing that. I just get excited about something and have to share it and then it dies.

I also have work banked up with Missy Dee. We just finished a story and have already begun the sequel for it, so I’m excited for you to read those because I’m a fan of this incarnation of Eric and Sookie we’ve been working with.

Anyway… give Into the Wild a chance if you can get your hands on a copy. It’s definitely worth watching.

12 thoughts on “Into the Wild…

  1. I haven’t seen this movie yet, but you’re the 3rd person who’s recommended it to me, so it’s definitely on my “to watch when I get a chance” list. 🙂

  2. sorry to hear that you pulled the story down, if you ever decide to work on it again, i am willing to help you out as you encouraged me a few years back to write and i have never forgotten that. Sorry to hear that Scribe left the FFN world. Hope she will do great things … Hugs KY

    • I encourage everyone who has even the tiniest desire to do so to give writing a chance. You’ll never know if you’re any good at it until you try. The hardest part is accepting your own voice as opposed to trying to emulate someone else, which flies in the face of fanfiction if you’re going to try to write canon, but you get what I’m saying. I don’t know that turned out for you but I hope you figured out whether or not you’ve a burgeoning writer hibernating in you.

  3. Love, love that movie and your right the sound track is just the best.

    Sorry to see you pull Free and hope to read it in the future in its new form but we all understand your reasonings why you did. Can’t wait to read what you’ll give us next.

    • Thanks, sweetie!

      Working title on the new story is The Remedy. Takes place as Eric is being released from his marriage to Freyda, but he hasn’t met Sookie yet. It plays with the Hep-D/SINO AIDS opportunities that Charlaine Harris left unexplored. I don’t have it all figured out yet but I’m working on the 4th chapter and Wifey is a kick ass helper with the brainstormy bits. I trust her to tell me if I’m being an idiot or if something doesn’t fit. I’ll post more about it when I have more of it finished and a better idea of where I’m going.

  4. I had enjoyed FREE but totally understand you need to be convinced that the story as is, is the story you want to tell (and work on!). But I will be looking forward to a future FREE and otherwise any story you write… I’ve never been disappointed so far and Brainmates stories will continue to be amongst my favourites ever

  5. Sad to see Free get pulled but I understand. No need to keep it up if you’re not invested in it. I’m really looking forward to your new solo work! And obviously your work with Missy too! I’ve really been loving the new story of y’all’s she’s been posting over there.
    As for Into the Wild, I’ve also never seen it. I’ve heard wonderful things about it and I remember when it came out but I’m so weird about Kristen Stewart. In her early stuff she was so harmless but ever since Twilight I can’t stand her. I know Into the Wild came out before Twilight but you know what I mean. Her acting can be a bit off-putting. Maybe I’ll give it a shot though. I do love Emile Hirsch!

  6. A beautiful book that deserves many a re-read, and a wonderful movie. Never much of an Eddie Vedder fan, I loved the soundtrack. Haunting, but perfect for the movie. On another note, I’m sure you’ll finish “Free” when you feel like it. Take your time. I look forward to reading anything that comes from your fascinating imagination! Thanks for sharing the .gifs from the movie. It makes me want to watch it again!

    I’m not sure if you’re aware, but we had a little contest where the readers chose their Dream Team of writers to rewrite Season 7 of True Blood so we could get the ending WE wanted, and you, along with your “wifey” and Missy made it to the top ten, or the Dream Team. Check out my blog for info & let me know what you think. http://msbuffy.wordpress.com

    • It’s a fantastic movie/book. Emile Hirsch is perfection in the movie and for once Vince Vaughn and Kristen Stewart aren’t atrocious or annoying. Plus the cinematography is stunning. The locations for the film are brilliant and beautiful. My favorite scene in the whole movie is the one where Katherine Keener sees Alex’s backpack outside the camper when she chases the puppy. It always makes me sad to think how sad she must have felt to learn of his death because she obviously loved Alex in a very maternal way. Ugh, just thinking about it makes me tear up.

      And I’ll email you about the contest…

      • The cinematography makes the movie worth watching for just that. Breathtaking. Katherine Keener’s performance was brilliant, one of her best. OK, as soon as I finish editing these chapters, I’m watching the movie again. Maybe I’ll dig out my book too. The book really kills me though. I weep throughout most of it now simply because I know what’s coming, but just the way it’s written is… There are no words.

        Now I have to hurry up with this editing! I’ll look forward to your email. 🙂

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

