The Lengths Chapter 3

GET. YOUR. KLEENEX.

The next morning I woke up to a surprisingly quiet house. I was used to Sadie coming into the room Eric and I shared to wake me up when she decided it was time I be up for the day. For some ungodly reason our daughter was an early riser. Given that her father was a vampire, she didn’t exactly keep the same hours as the average child. Then again, she didn’t have to be up early to go to school like most kids. Her tutor didn’t come until around what was lunch time for most people.

I did notice, however, that the older she got, the later she slept. She was also a heavy sleeper, which was a good thing. Once Sadie was out, she was out. I wondered if she got that from Eric because I certainly hadn’t ever been a heavy sleeper and becoming a mother only made me more prone to waking up at odd hours. There had been nights when she was a baby that it seemed like I had gotten up to check on her every hour on the dot, and that was with Eric being awake to handle things himself.

That was one of the hidden blessings of having a nocturnal partner. Eric insisted that I rest at night and give him some time alone with our daughter. He took parenting much more seriously than I ever could have imagined, and even though I probably shouldn’t have been surprised by it, I absolutely was. It also made me love him just a little bit more.

I rubbed the sleep from my eyes and went downstairs to use the bathroom. I didn’t hear Gran and Sadie talking quietly and when I went to the kitchen I found a note on the counter from Gran. She had taken Sadie to church.

Ah ha. That explained it.

The Lengths: Chapter 3

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

