This is a rant…

If you don’t want to read me raging, don’t click the cut to read more. I am in a shit mood right now and everything is pissing me off. You’ve been warned.

Okay, so what the fuck is up with people thinking they’re entitled to tell me what I can and cannot post on my own blog? Seriously, when did that become okay? Forget for a second that as an American citizen I have the protection of the first amendment to say whatever the hell I want. I want to know when it was decided that we all have to agree on everything? Since when can’t people have differing opinions? And why the sparkly fuck do people take it so seriously when someone disagrees with them? Sometimes you don’t need to have a fucking dissertation written on why you don’t like something either. You don’t need to have a list of reasons. If you don’t like something, you don’t like it. End of fucking story.

I don’t feel like I should have to apologize for saying that I don’t like something or that I feel as if someone is being annoying. The great thing about tumblr, in particular (which is where this rant was spawned), is that you have the option of not following blogs that are chock full of shit you don’t want to read. Thing is, some of the blogs I follow cover various things and aren’t geared toward one particular topic or fandom. Some days a blogger might be more into one thing than another or there might be big fandom news. I get it, trust me. Over the summer I’m blogging about True Blood like a boss. I’m sure it gets annoying to some of the people that follow me.

Here’s the thing: If you don’t like what I’m blogging, then don’t fucking follow me. Don’t send me anon asks or whatnot to attempt to police my blog. No one is forcing you to look at what I’m posting. I didn’t tag my posts to incite fandom rage. I posted what I wanted to post because I had a valid, individual opinion. If people don’t like that sort of thing they can fuck off.

What kills me is that this person who sent me an ask was anonymous, and therefore probably not a follower of mine. But if you’re out there and you’re reading this post let me just say that I give zero fucks what you think. One post that you deem offensive when I’m fairly certain there are plenty of people who would see my addition to that post and applaud it. Not everything in the world relates back to your fandom so sit down. And if you do follow me, please stop.

/end rant

7 thoughts on “This is a rant…

  1. Firstly, I hope the rant helped… Secondly, I completely agree… I never get why readers esp. anonymously lash out at what someone has posted. If you don’t have something positive to say, or cannot say something constructively, perhaps is better to ‘hold your peace’. If one wants to be critical, perhaps a personal message (if this exists here) is a less public, more sensitive to express your feelings if you really must… Finally, writers… I am in awe at all the stuff you put out there and I hope you do not get discouraged by a minority of insensitive people…

  2. Amen sister…

    Just in case nobody knew what it actually says…First Amendment:

    “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

    ~S

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

