Wow…

Okay, so I just got this review for Full of Grace, chapter 18:

“I like your stories and I think you’re a good writer, but I really despise the inclusion of the “Jerry Springer” jokes about gender and calling someone an ‘it’. Stuff like that, even included for the sake of comedy, always makes me wonder about the author and why they think it’s funny. It’s just unnecessary, especially when you consider the slurs and misgendering used against transgender women, who are often the victims of violent hate crimes. Obviously I can’t stop anyone from writing what they want to, but please consider how offensive this is to LGBT readers.” -Anonymous

I completely agree that there are awful crimes committed against transgendered people. However, the passage that this reader is referring to has nothing to do with a transgendered person. Anyone that has ever watched Jerry Springer knows that a good deal of his guests are white trash, hillbillies that look like they come from a very inbred, Hit Shot type family. That is what the passage was referencing, and not someone that is transgendered, transexual or anything like that.

I’m a little offended by this review and it’s assumption that I’m secretly in the business of supporting inflammatory humor against a community that fights so hard for equality. But since this person knows nothing about me, or my private life, he/she wouldn’t know that I have friends that are in drag shows or that I go to the Pride parade in Boystown, support gay marriage, or that I think gender isn’t always defined by the body we’re born into. I’ve done hair/makeup for one of my oldest friends when he goes out in drag. I love him dearly and never once have I judged him.

So to that reviewer, please don’t lecture me on things you don’t understand. Never, in a million years, would I ever write a story where hate crimes and gay bashing are acceptable, in any capacity. Frankly, you are the only person to draw that conclusion from the audience that’s read it and I have to winder about you as a person, since you were the only one to go there.

Ugh. Thanks for ruining my day, asshole.

Just in case you want to listen to me rant more about this…

4 thoughts on “Wow…

  1. I can send you some Skars in drag if you like?

    Its hard to say how that anonymous person came to that conclusion, but I’ve stopped trying to figure them out. Obviously some people live their life defensively and look for the negative in everything instead of reading the story for what it is.

    And we can’t forget I’m an overweight fatshamer that writes about emotional abuse.

    I love you ♡♥♡♥

    • I concur.

      I swear, no matter what an author says at this point, there’s always someone who is going to find something offensive. Get over yourself. When did everyone become so fucking hypersensitive over every little thing? There are blatant, obvious slurs that I would have used had I been referencing someone in the transgendered community, but that isn’t the case.

      This review just infuriates me because it implies that I endorse hate crimes and nothing could be further from the truth. I don’t know if the goal of this reviewer was to ruin my day, but he/she certainly accomplished that.

      Fucker.

      And I love you too, Missy

  2. I just always have to wonder if these people’s lives are really so empty that what you choose to write about means SO much that they have to rant about it to this point. really? is it that important?

  3. You know, I’m happy to hear this person feels so passionately about this issue. There are lots of people that do and it’s a shame that there are so many people in the world who spit on those who are transgendered/transexual. However, I’m not one of those people. I don’t appreciate the inference than I am. I should probably just shake it off and move on, but this review really pissed me off for a lot of reasons. Ugh.

Speak Now or Forever Hold Your Peace...

